## JOINT STATEMENT

## BY THE HEADS OF STATE OF THE REPUBLIC OF KAZAKHSTAN, THE PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC OF CHINA, THE KYRGYZ REPUBLIC, THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION, THE REPUBLIC OF TAJIKISTAN, THE REPUBLIC OF UZBEKISTAN

The heads of state of the Republic of Kazakhstan, the People's Republic of China, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan, the Republic of Uzbekistan declare the following.

1. Highly assessing the positive experience gained by the Shanghai Five during its existence and sharing the spirit and principles that underpin the cooperation within its framework, in January 2001, the Republic of Uzbekistan expressed its readiness to take part in the cooperation within the Shanghai Five as full member.

The Republic of Kazakhstan, the People's Republic of China, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan welcome the desire of the Republic of Uzbekistan to develop cooperation based on the principles of trust, stability and mutual understanding between the countries of the region and decided to admit the Republic of Uzbekistan as a full member of the Shanghai Five.

2. The Republic of Uzbekistan's full membership in the Shanghai Five entails following the principles set forth in the agreements on confidence building in the military field and on mutual reduction of armed forces in the border areas signed in 1996 and 1997 in Shanghai and Moscow, respectively, as well as other agreements reached between the heads of the "five" states. These principles lay the foundation for the relations between the Shanghai Five's member states.

3. As practical work related to the establishment of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization has already been launched, the Republic of Uzbekistan expresses its willingness to become, along with the Republic of Kazakhstan, the People's Republic of China, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Russian Federation and the Republic of Tajikistan, a co-founder of this new association and jointly sign the Declaration on the Establishment of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization and the Shanghai Convention on Combating Terrorism, Separatism and Extremism.

The Heads of State of the Republic of Kazakhstan, the People's Republic of China, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Russian Federation and the Republic of Tajikistan welcome this intention of the Republic of Uzbekistan.

Shanghai, June 14, 2001